Star Wars Hoth Diorama – part 1

Hi,

This first modeling post is about Star Wars, one of my long-time favorite geek stuff.

This is a slightly more thorough post than I’ve made in the RPF Forum (link below).

Basically I wanted to recreate one of my favorite scenes of the older trilogy, the Hoth iced planet AT-AT vs Snowspeeder scene. This is by no means an original idea, in fact I’ve followed Dr. Fausts and Toxicrafa’s videos on youtube. (I’m a firm believer of giving credit to the ones who deserve it, so you can find the links below:)

I’m a complete newbie to both airbrushing and weathering techniques. After a lot of searching I’ve bought myself an Iwata Eclipse HP-CS with a cheap multi-purpose compressor which makes a lot of noise but works very good. Maybe I’ll do an airbrush post in the future, with a description of how I’ve built my own cheap paint booth from a plastic box.

Regarding the diorama… at first I’ve ordered the F-Toys models from eBay. As far as I could understand, F-Toys is a japanese maker which developed small and cheap Star-Wars vehicles plastic kits, which are not easily available in Europe. So, eBay was the way to go. First I’ve ordered the AT-AT and the Snowspeeders, but messed up: instead of ordering the big AT-AT I’ve ordered the two smaller ones by mistake.

Since I did not had any experience with the artificial snow and with pigments, I’ve thought on making a smaller version of the diorama with the two AT-ATs, one walking and another one destroyed. For that I’ve sanded the head mount of one AT-AT and glued the legs in order to get the “face plant” position.

HothSmall_walking.JPG
AT-AT Walking Position
HothSmall_faceplant.JPG
Crashed AT-AT

I kept the original paint, but weathered them with Mig Productions 502 Abteilung oils and finish with some dark “Rocket Exhaust” pigment.

The support is a small cheap frame, such as in the inspiration videos, and in order to get the snow effect I’ve bought Woodland Scenics Soft Flake Snow and mixed it with standard PVA glue.

HothSmall_snowdrying.JPG
Snow drying

It turned out quite ok, the only thing is that the white glue turned the snow a little yellow after drying.

HothSmall_snowdried.JPG
After Pigments and “yellowed” snow

(To be continued)

Links:

RPF Forum

Dr. Faust

Toxicrafa videos

 

Take care and be safe out there…

AGT

Leave a comment