Star Wars Cabinet

Ok, so I’m geek… You’ve probably already noticed that. 🙂 Oh, and I simply LOOVE the Star Wars universe…which you should already have noticed also..

I was gathering a bit of a collection, and I wanted a place to display all my stuff (and also protect it from my baby, and protect my baby from it – small easy-braking plastic parts are always a concern when you have a toddler wandering around).

Our office is quite small! When we purchased the house I imagined it to be the biggest room, but it ended up as being the smallest…funny how things turn out! We had to think on how to properly fit everything we wanted without making it unusable or too “crowded”. I like the end-result, but some more real estate would be nice…maybe next time, when I earn enough to purchase a house with a proper man-cave.

Well, let’s get back on-topic. As always, money is a concern, so an IKEA Besta was the solution for the cabinet. I’ve ordered some tempered glass doors cut to fit, and after some DIY tweaking I got quite a nice place to show my stuff.

Under the desk I have a switch, which transforms the office into “non-work mode”: it turns on indirect lighting on the end of the desk, a Batman sign on the wall, and I wanted also this to light the cabinet. I had some LED strips from a previous project (a cloud lamp for the baby room and also the Batman sign, soon to be featured in the blog), so the light source was chosen.

After some time working all the cabling, the end result was quite satisfying… Since I already had the led strip, the only cost was with the electrical cable (~6€), the led strip adapters (~4€) and a 12V 2.5A Power supply (~7€)! Happy times!

In the shelves you can check out some past and future projets…

Take care and be safe out there…

AGT

Leave a comment